• CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/44.1kHz .flac)
Artist: Sonar w. David Torn EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761370 Cat. No. (CD): RNR087 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761387 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR087
Sonar’s fourth release Vortex reflects the sound of surprise. After three uncompromising quartet albums exploring the edges of minimalist groove, the Swiss group has partnered with renowned guitarist, composer and producer David Torn for its RareNoise debut.
The band, comprised of guitarists Stephan Thelen and Bernhard Wagner, bassist Christian Kuntner and drummer Manuel Pasquinelli have long been celebrated for combining the visceral power and dynamics of art rock with a minimalist aesthetic. Their previous album, 2015’s Black Light, attracted significant media and musician attention. Legendary avant-guitarist Henry Kaiser took a particular interest in the group and was determined to pair them up with Torn for their next album.

Stephan Thelen : guitar
Bernhard Wagner : guitar
Christian Kuntner : electric bass
Manuel Pasquinelli : drums
David Torn : electric guitar, live-looping & manipulation

1 Part 44
2 Red Shift
3 Waves And Particles
4 Monolith
5 Vortex
6 Lookface!

All compositions by Stephan Thelen except
Part 44 by Stephan Thelen and Don Li
Monolith by Stephan Thelen and David Torn
Lookface! by Stephan Thelen, Bernhard Wagner,
Christian Kuntner, Manuel Pasquinelli, and David Torn
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced and mixed by David Torn
Recorded at Powerplay Studio A in Maur near Zürich, Switzerland, February 15-17, 2017
Engineer : D.James Goodwin
Assistant : Reto Muggli
Mastered by Serge Christen, www.mazzivesound.ch

Artwork and Design by Max Franosch

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

David Torn appears courtesy of ECM Records

You may also like…