Tranceportation (Vol.2)


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Transparent Violet, Slipcase, Printed Inners + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/44.1kHz .flac)

Release Date : June 26th, 2020

Artist: Sonar w. David Torn EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761929 Cat. No. (CD): RNR114 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761936 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR114LP

Tranceportation Volume 2 is the next destination in Sonar’s ongoing musical journey as the Swiss-based band celebrates 10 years of cutting-edge music-making.

Once again the quartet formed in 2010 have joined forces with internationally-respected experimental guitarist, David Torn, to deliver an album brimming with a sound that’s marked by bold, resonant creativity.

The group’s polyrhythmic approach, utilising various elements of tension, release, space and dynamics rewrites the rules about what guitar-dominated music is capable of achieving.

Sonar’s founder, guitarist Stephan Thelen, whose work has been performed by the Kronos Quartet, brings forward a further instalment of compositions that seamlessly blend a pointillistic, metrical complexity with deep subterranean grooves that engage both the heart and the mind of the listener.

David Torn : electric guitar, live looping
Stephan Thelen : tritone guitar
Bernhard Wagner : tritone guitar
Christian Kuntner : tritone bass
Manuel Pasquinelli : drums, percussion

1 Triskaidekaphilia (9:45)
2 Tranceportation (12:42)
3 Slowburn (10:02)
4 Cloud Chamber (9:40)

All compositions by Stephan Thelen with contributions by Bernhard Wagner, Christian Kuntner, Manuel Pasquinelli and David Torn.
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Sonar with David Torn.
Recorded „live in the studio“ April 29 – May 3, 2019, at Mazzivesound Studio in Bellmund, Switzerland (
Engineer: Chris Diggelmann

Edited & Mixed by Stephan Thelen between May and July 2019.
Mastered by Serge Christen at Mazzivesound.
All tracks arranged by Sonar. Sonar’s guitar parts arranged by Stephan Thelen and Bernhard Wagner.

Artwork and Design by Ian Anderson for The Designers’ Republic
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo
David Torn appears courtesy of ECM Records.

Thanks to Sara and Serge Christen, Alexander Vatagin and Markus Reuter.
Thanks to Kanton Zürich Fachstelle Kultur for financial support.

© + ℗  RareNoiseRecords 2020

You may also like…