The Unknowable


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)

The word magic comes up time and again when speaking of  The Unknowable. Both Dave Liebman and Adam Rudolph use the term when describing their “beautiful alchemy” that also included Tatsuya Nakatani, all three acclaimed artists working as one for this project. Nakatani may not have been using the word “magic” when he refers to this trio’s unique chemistry; but when he speaks of “living life with sound spirit world,” I infer that he’s pointing to the same “voodoo of spontaneous high level musical communication” Liebman so aptly describes.

That “beautiful alchemy” Rudolph talks of could only have come about in light of previous separate and shared musical experiences between all three. Essentially drummers, Rudolph and Nakatani, and Liebman the all-around reed player, have traveled their respective “spaceways” with just a few overlaps.

Dave Liebman : tenor and soprano saxophones, c flute, native american flute,
recorder, piri, fender rhodes (track 10)
Tatsuya Nakatani : drum kit, gongs, metal percussion, percussion
Adam Rudolph : handrumset (kongos, djembe, tarija, zabumba) thumb piano,
sintir, mbuti harp, slit drum, percussion, overtone flutes, fender rhodes (track 11),
live electronic processing

1. Benediction (Opening) 4:14
2. The Simple Truth 3:47
3. Late Moon 3:41
4. The Unknowable 3:25
5. Skyway Dream 4:24
6. Transmutations 4:34
7. The Turning 3:39
8. Present Time 3:25
9. Distant Twilight 2:57
10. Iconographic 2:05
11. Cosmogram 4:44
12. Premonition 4:08
13. Benediction (Closing) 3:48

All compositions by Adam Rudolph, Dave Liebman, Tatsuya Nakatani
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Adam Rudolph, Dave Liebman, Tatsuya Nakatani
Recorded July 2016 at Orange Music Sound Studio, New Jersey
Recorded, mixed and mastered by James Dellatacoma

Design by Sylvain Leroux
Artwork by Adam Rudolph

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2018

You may also like…