The Organ Grinder


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)
Artist: Free Nelson Mandoomjazz EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761004 Cat. No. (CD): RNR068 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761011 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR068LP

With the release of 2013‘s double EP The Shape of Doomjazz To Come/Saxophone Giganticus, the renegade Scottish trio Free Nelson Mandoomjazz laid out its musical manifesto in bone-crunching terms and followed up in 2014 with the equally potent Awakening of a Capital. Both recordings showcased the Edinburgh-based musicians Colin Stewart (bass), Paul Archibald (drums) and Rebecca Sneddon (alto sax) in a provocative blend of doom metal and free jazz, influenced principally by such artists as Black Sabbath, Electric Wizard, Sun Ra, Sonny Rollins, Albert Ayler and Wayne Shorter.

The band’s sound has progressed with each new recording, and now with The Organ Grinder they take it up a couple of notches. While retaining the same intensely throbbing core that is at the heart of Free Nelson Mandoomjazz music, the addition of trumpeter Luc Klein and trombonist Patrick Darley on a few tracks brings new colors and textures to the proceedings. This is a bigger, bolder vision for the group without forsaking its punk-jazz essence.

Recorded at the Reid Hall in Edinburgh, The Organ Grinder presents a new and expanded vision for the sound of the band, owing as much to 11 new compositions as to the new extend lineup and to intrinsic nature of the concert hall it was recorded in, itself famed for enjoying large amounts of reverb.

Rebecca Sneddon : Saxophones
Colin Stewart : Electric Bass
Paul Archibald : Drums, Piano on 5, Organ on 11


Luc Klein : Trumpet on 2,5,6,9
Patrick Darley : Trombone on 4,6

1. Fast End Song – Open the Gate
2. Paul’s Jazz – You are Old, Father William
3. Chord Song – Funambule
4. Becca’s Song – The Woods
5. Calcutta Cutie
6. Luc’s Song – LORA
7. Cycle man ee aah – Bicycle Day
8. Inferno – Inferno Part 1
9. Colin’s jazz – Shapeshifter
10. Sleeping Mountains – Always Go Left In The Maze
11. Om

All compositions by Sneddon, Stewart, Archibald
except 2 by Archibald, 4 by Sneddon, 5 by Horace Silver, 6 by Luc Klein, 9 by Stewart

Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Free Nelson Mandoomjazz and Luc Klein

Recorded by Seamus Conacher at The Reid Concert Hall, Edinburgh, Scotland, January 2016
Mixed by Seamus Conacher
Mastered by Mike Fossenkemper at Turtletone Studio, NYC

Design Rebecca Sneddon
Photography by Luc Klein, Seamus Conacher and Charlie Wild

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2016