The New Standard


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)
Artist: Saft, Swallow and Previte EAN 13 (CD): 5060197760496 Cat. No. (CD): RNR041 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197760502 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR041LP

While Jamie Saft has been a significant presence on previous RareNoise recordings by Slobber Pup, Plymouth and Metallic Taste of Blood, the renegade keyboardist and essential Downtown improviser steps into a dramatically different role on The New Standard.

A collaborative trio outing featuring the dream rhythm tandem of drummer Bobby Previte and bassist Steve Swallow, both prolific composers and venerable bandleaders in their own right, it showcases Saft alternating between piano and organ and making thoughtful, melodic contributions throughout.

On ten original tracks, seven of which the keyboardist composed, Saft blends brilliantly with his esteemed elders on this remarkable RareNoise release.

Jamie Saft : Piano, Organ
Steve Swallow : Electric Bass
Bobby Previte : Drums

All compositions by Jamie Saft with the exception of “Traprock”, “Scrapes” and “Moraine” by Jamie Saft, Steve Swallow and Bobby Previte

Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Joe Ferla

Recorded by Joe Ferla at Potterville International Sound NY

Mixed by Joe Ferla

Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk, NY.
Vinyl Lacquers cut by Alex DeTurk and Scott Hull at Masterdisk, NY.
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Artwork and Design by Bobby Previte and Graham Schreiner

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2014