That The Days Go By And Never Come Again


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Slipcase + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/44.1kHz .flac)
Artist: Cuong Vu EAN 13 (CD): 5060197760519 Cat. No. (CD): RNR042 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197760526 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR042LP

Trumpeter-composer Cuong Vu has established himself as a distinctive voice on the new music/improvising scene for his adventurous work over the past 20 years with the likes of guitarist Bill Frisell, Pat Metheny and Laurie Anderson as well as his body of works as leader.

Electro-acoustic composer and pianist Richard Karpen has earned accolades for his work in the classical field as well as for being a cutting edge sonic experimenter of the highest order. Joined by their faculty colleagues at the University of Washington, innovative bassist Luke Bergman and Vu’s longstanding bandmate, drummer Ted Poor, these two kindred spirits push the envelope in a myriad of provocative ways on That The Days Go By And Never Come Again, an extended suite that pays tribute to the indelible composing team of Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn in a most uncompromising fashion.

Indigo Mist are:

Cuong Vu : trumpet
Richard Karpen : piano
Luke Berman : bass
Ted Poor : drums

1. L’Heure Bleue
2. Indigo Mist
3. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
4. Billy
5. Duke
6. In A Sentimental Mood
7. Charles
8. Lush Life
9. The Electric Mist
10. Mood Indigo

“In A Sentimental Mood” and “Mood Indigo” composed by Duke Ellington
“A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing” and “Lush Life” composed by Billy Strayhorn

All other compositions by Karpen, Vu, Bergman, and Vu.
Published by Jack House Music, BMI 2014.

Produced by Karpen, Vu, Bergman

Live Electronics Sound Design and Computer Programming by Richard Karpen and Joshua Parmenter
Recorded by Michael McCrea at the Floyd and Delores Jones Playhouse

Mixed by Luke Bergman
Mastered by Chris Vita at Vita Mastering

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Artwork and Design by Petulia Mattioli

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2014