Su Mimmi Non Si Spara!


  • CD  (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • Vinyl  (12″, Gatefold, Heavyweight + SD Download)
  • Combo  (CD + Vinyl + SD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/88.2kHz .flac)
Artist: Francesco Guerri EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761844 Cat. No. (CD): RNR110 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761851 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR110LP

The music of Italian cellist Francesco Guerri obliterates the line between contemporary classical music and free improvisation, sculpting spontaneous invention into startling, unpredictable compositions. On his striking third album, Su Mimmi non si spara!, Guerri presents a dozen innovative pieces that span a wide range of stylistic approaches and technical challenges, invigorated by the physicality of his virtuosic playing and the deep emotional bond he maintains with his instrument.

Su Mimmi non si spara! contrasts moments of ethereal beauty with visceral aggression, aching lyricism with abstract noise, whisper-quiet minimalism with rock-inspired power. His expansive attack on the cello incorporates such disparate methods as alternative tunings, percussive bowing, exotic preparations and electronic distortions. At its core is the tension between the cerebral invention of Guerri’s boundary-stretching technique and the passionate expression he conveys to his audience.

Francesco Guerri : cello, prepared cello, electronics on My [ha]nd

1. Lucy (overture)
2. Su Mimmi non si spara!
3. Ciacco
4. Minosse
5. Your beginning
6. Viola
7. Paper
8. Medusa
9. AFK
10. Mimmi resisti
11. My [ha]nd

All music written by Francesco Guerri
All music published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Andrea Scardovi at Duna Studio, Russi (Ravenna), except track 11 My[ha]nd recorded by Bruno Germano at Vacuum Studio, Bologna.

Artwork and concept by Federico Guerri | Luca Piovaccari
Design by Luca Piovaccari
Handwriting by Francesco Bocchini

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Many thanks to: Alice, Area Sismica, Chiara Guidi, Elisa Pieri, Enrico e Michele Guerri

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2019

You may also like…