Serenity Knolls


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)
Artist: Bill Brovold, Jamie Saft EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761172 Cat. No. (CD): RNR076 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761189 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR076LP

Jamie Saft has been a significant presence on RareNoise since the label’s inception: as band leader on New Zion w. Cyro’s Sunshine Seas (on piano, analogue keyboards, bass and guitar with percussionist Cyro Baptista)  and on The New Standard (on piano and organ with bassist Steve Swallow and drummer Bobby Previte), on celebrated quartet collaborations with Wadada Leo Smith (Red Hill, on piano) and Roswell Rudd (Strength&Power, on piano), as well as on a number of deep free music collaborations involving Joe Morris (Slobber Pup, Plymouth, The Spanish Donkey, on organ and analogue keyboards).

Now, on Serenity Knolls, he stakes out some completely different territory. An intimate duo project with guitarist Bill Brovold, a former member of such New York no-wave bands as the Rhys Chatham Ensemble, the East Village Orchestra and the Zen Vikings, it features Saft alternating between playing dobro and lap steel on a set of 12 ambient type tunes with a distinctive heartland undercurrent to them.

Bill Brovold : Electric Guitar
Jamie Saft : Dobro, Lap Steel Guitar

1. Sweet Grass
2. Mitchimakinak
3. Saddle Horn
4. Wendigo
5. Thermopolis
6. The Great American Bison
7. Bemidji
8. No Horse Seen
9. Splintering Wind
10. Greybull
11. Serenity Knolls
12. Silent Midpoint

All compositions written by Bill Brovold & Jamie Saft
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced and Recorded by Jamie Saft at Potterville International Sound, NY
Mixed by Christian Castagno and Jamie Saft at Potterville International Sound, NY
Mastered by Vin Cin at Electric Plant Studios, Brooklyn, NY

All photos and images (Vinyl/CD Artwork) by Jamie Saft © 2016
Art and Design by Graham Schreiner

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2017