Reflections In Cosmo


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/44.1kHz .flac)
Artist: Reflections In Cosmo EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761103 Cat. No. (CD): RNR073 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761110 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR073LP

The fire and fury of ‘60s free jazz and the tumult of electronic rock-tinged experimental music is on full display on this new powerhouse offering from four cutting edge Oslo-based musicians collectively known as Reflection in Cosmo. With Kjetil Møster on saxes, Hans Magnus Ryan on guitar, Ståle Storløkken on keyboards and Thomas Strønen on drums, these four kindred spirits strike a tumultuous accord on their self-titled debut on RareNoise, which represents Møster’s followup on RareNoise to his edgy avant-jazz collaboration in 2014 with the Hungarian power trio .

At times recalling the ferocious intensity of the late ‘80s free jazz quartet Last Exit (Peter Brotzman, Sonny Sharrock, Bill Lawell, Ronald Shannon Jackson), this potent Norwegian outfit pushes the envelope with Møster’s blowtorch intensity on baritone and tenor saxes, Ryan’s wailing electric guitar work, Storløkken’s crunchy, distortion-laced keyboards and Strønen’s thunderous drumming.

Kjetil Møster : saxophones
Hans-Magnus Ryan : guitars
Ståle Storløkken : organ, keyboards
Thomas Strønen : drums

1. Cosmosis (Møster/Ryan/Storløkken/Strønen)
2. Ironhorse (Strønen)
3. Cosmic Hymn (Storløkken)
4. Balklava (Møster/Ryan/Storløkken/Strønen)
5. Perpetuum Immobile (Møster/Ryan/Storløkken/Strønen)
6. Fuzzstew (Møster/Ryan/Storløkken/Strønen)
7. Reflections In Cosmo (Strønen)

Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Recorded by Jo Ranheim at Øra Studio, Trondheim, on June 18-20 2014
Mixed by Yngve Sætre at Duper Studio, Bergen, on August 18-20 2015
Mastered by Jørgen Træen at Studio Grotten, Bergen

Artwork by Dridmachine

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo

Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2017