Nine Thoughts For One Word


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Slipcase + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)
Artist: Chat Noir EAN 13 (CD): 5060197760939 Cat. No. (CD): RNR064 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197760946 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR064LP

The adventurous trio Chat Noir has for the past 12 years defied easy categorization with its organic mix of ambient music, electronic textures as well as chamber music and jazz.

Their singular approach to the piano trio, cinematic in scope and startlingly beautiful, has garnered critical raves throughout Europe (Elec3Cities)

On Nine Thoughts for One Word, their sixth recording overall and second for London-based RareNoise Records, the two founding members, pianist Michele Cavallari and bassist Luca Fogagnolo, are joined in their further explorations by electronic/ambient music composer and producer J.Peter Schwalm (Brian Eno, Eivind Aarset).

Together they make a conceptual leap on what a piano trio can be, with the invaluable input of Schwalm’s studio magic.

Michele Cavallari : keyboards, fx
Luca Fogagnolo : bass, double bass, trombone, fx


J. Peter Schwalm : treatments, electronics, fx, beats on 1,2,3,6,7,8, additional keyboards on 1,2,3,5,6,7,8, additional acoustic guitar on 3
Daniel Calvi : electric guitars on 3 and 7, acoustic and lap steel guitars on 4
Alessandro Tomaselli : lyrics and vocals on 3

1. Eternally Tranquil Light
2. Fundamental Mind
3. Momentary Continual
4. Blinking Neon
5. Detuning Leaves
6. Uneven
7. Soft Ground
8. Crystallized Flow

Composed, overdubbed and produced by Michele Cavallari, Luca Fogagnolo, and J. Peter Schwalm
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Mixed and edited by J. Peter Schwalm at Mainsound, Frankfurt, Germany
Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtletone Studio, NYC

Cover art and design by Max Franosch

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo

©  + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2016