Mikrojazz (Neue Expressionistische Musik)


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Slipcase + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/48kHz .flac)
Artist: Philipp Gerschlauer, David Fiuczynski EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761295 Cat. No. (CD): RNR083 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761301 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR083LP

On Mikrojazz, their cutting edge joint project for RareNoise
Records, German saxophonist Philipp Gerschlauer and guitarist David Fiuczynski explore the world of music that falls between the cracks of the tempered scale. Joined by jazz drumming legend Jack DeJohnette, fretless electric bassist Matt Garrison and microtonal keyboardist Giorgi Mikadze, this daring crew creates dreamy, otherworldly soundscapes on tunes
by Gerschlauer like aptly-titled Hangover and LaMonte’s Gamelan Jam along with a swinging microtonal tune Mikro Steps and other originals like Fiuczynski’s MiCroY Tyner, Zirkus Macabre and Lullaby Nightmare.

Fiuczynski, who heads up the Planet MicroJam Institute at the Berklee College of Music in Boston, previously released two microtonal recordings on RareNoise — 2012’s Planet MicroJam, which
opened a Pandora’s Box on non-Western tuning, and 2016’s Flam! Blam! Pan-Asian MicroJam!, which was jointly dedicated to 20th century classical composer Olivier Messiaen and innovative hip-hop record producer JDilla. Gerschlauer, who was inspired by French composer Gérard Grisey and Paul Desmond had been independently exploring the world of microtonal music in Berlin and New York before developing a method of dividing an octave (12 notes in equal temperament) into 128 notes on the alto saxophone.

Philipp Gerschlauer : alto saxophone
David Fiuczynski : fretted and fretless guitars
Jack DeJohnette : drums
Matthew Garrison : fretless bass
Giorgi Mikadze : microtonal keyboards

1 MikroSteps
2 Für Mary Wigman
3 Lullaby Nightmare
4 MiCrOY Tyner
5 Umarmung
6 Last Chance
7 November
8 Hangover
9 LaMonte’s Gamelan Jam
10 Walking Not Flying
11 Sofia Im Türkischen Café
12 Zirkus Macabre

Compositions 1 / 2 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8 / 9 / 11 by Philipp Gerschlauer
Compositions 3 / 4 / 10 / 12 by David Fiuczynski
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced and arranged by Philipp Gerschlauer and David Fiuczynski
All compositions edited by David Fiuczynski

Recorded between June 27th and June 30th 2016 at Clubhouse, Rhinebeck, NY
Recording Engineer Paul Antonell, assistant engineer Mike Dwyer
Mixed and mastered by Javier G. F. Escudero at Estudios Cubex

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Artwork by ROK

All keyboard sounds except on “Zirkus Macabre” are provided by friendly support of PianoTeq (True Modelling) www.pianoteq.com
Ambient amusement park sounds on “Zirkus Macabre” provided by www.freesfx.co.uk

The Micro-Triptych Suite a) Lullaby Nightmare b) Walking Not Flying c) Zirkus Macabre composed by David Fiuczynski.
MiCrOY Tyner is inspired by and dedicated to the amazing McCoy Tyner.

All tunings by Philipp Gerschlauer, except for Tracks 9 (LaMonte Young: “The Well-Tuned Piano”) and 3 / 4 / 10 (Marc Sabat: “Well-Tempered” Extended Just Intonation JI Quarter Tone Tuning for Keyboard Instruments (Berlin, December 2015, February 2016) an 11th partial apart) and 12 (24 Equal Temperament)

Programming of the microtonal keyboards by Philipp Gerschlauer

Supported by Initiative Musik GmbH with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2017

You may also like…