• CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″ Double, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/44.1kHz .flac)
Artist: Rudd, Victor, Harris, Filiano EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761332 Cat. No. (CD): RNR085 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761349 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR085LP

For his follow-up to 2016’s purely improvised studio recording Strength & Power (a cooperative quartet album featuring pianist Jamie Saft, bassist Trevor Dunn and drummer Balázs Pándi), the ever-adventurous trombonist-composer Roswell Rudd made a decided shift in direction on his first RareNoise release as a leader by embracing jazz standards he has loved and played throughout his long and illustrious career. Accompanied by the brilliant pianist Lafayette Harris, upright bass virtuoso Ken Filiano and soulful vocal sensation Fay Victor, the 81-year-old jazz master delivers with rare potency and poignancy on the aptly-titled Embrace. This intimate, drum-less quartet session is brimming with conversational playing between all the participants, with Rudd and Victor partaking in some particularly interactive exchanges on jazz classics like Billy Strayhorn’s Something to Live For, Charles MingusGoodbye Pork Pie Hat, Thelonious Monk’s beautiful ballad Pannonica, the standard Can’t We Be Friends and the traditional House of the Rising Sun.

Roswell Rudd : trombone
Fay Victor : voice
Lafayette Harris : piano
Ken Filiano : double bass

1. Something To Live For
2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
3. Can’t We Be Friends
4. I Hadn’t Anyone Till You
5. Too Late Now
6. House Of The Rising Sun
7. I Look In The Mirror
8. Pannonica

Something To Live For by Billy Strayhorn, Duke Ellington (Billy Strayhorn Songs Inc/Dimensional Music/Reservoir Media Mgmt Inc/Emi/Mills Music Inc)
Goodbye Pork Pie Hat by Charles Mingus (Jazz Workshop Inc/Union Square Music Publishing Ltd). Lyrics by Rashaan Roland Kirk
Can’t We Be Friends by Paul James and Kay Swift (Harms Inc/Chappell Music Ltd)
I Hadn’t Anyone Till You by Ray Noble (Redwood Music Ltd/Chappell&Co Ltd)
Too Late Now by Burton Lane (Emi Feist Catalog Inc/Warner Chappell Music International Ltd)
House Of The Rising Sun (Traditional – Palace Music Co Ltd)
I Look In The Mirror by Verna Gillis (BMI)
Pannonica by Thelonious Monk (Thelonious-Music 1630 Publishing Services Inc/Catalyst Music Publishing Ltd). Lyrics by Joe Hendricks

Produced by Verna Gillis/SOUNDSCAPE
Recorded by Jamie Saft at Potterville International Studios in the Catskills, NY
Mixed by Jamie Saft at Potterville International Studios in the Catskills, NY
Mastered by Vin Cin

Artwork and Design by Graham Schreiner
Photography by Verna Gillis

Executive producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2017

You may also like…