• CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Slipcase + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/96kHz .flac)
Artist: Interstatic EAN 13 (CD): 5060197760533 Cat. No. (CD): RNR043 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197760540 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR043LP

With each successive outing — first 2011’s Anthem followed by their raucous RareNoise Records debut, 2013’s InterStatic — the potent Norway-based trio of expatriate Brit organist Roy Powell, Norwegian guitarist Jacob Young and Norwegian drummer Jarle Vespestad has upped the ante on intensity and audaciousness while arriving at a nexus where rock organically meets jazz. Now the powerhouse unit has reached a new level with 2014’s superb Arise.

Arise is an album of many influences – it shifts nimbly from rock-blues anthems like Doozy Mugwump Blues and Alexa to intricate numbers like Caerbannog (named after the cave protected by the killer rabbit in the absurdly comedic 1975 film Monty Python and the Holy Grail) to the swinging Alpha Dog

Powell’s Frank’ll Fix It, (which you can listen to on the player on the left) full of challenging stop-time phrases, is dedicated to one of his major influences, Frank Zappa, while the dynamic Wonderfall carries the influence of the pioneering fusion band Lifetime featuring UK guitar hero John McLaughlin and Newark, New Jersey-based organist Larry Young

Included Products

When you order this product, you get all the following products for free!!

Roy Powell : Hammond Organ
Jacob Young : Electric Guitar
Jarle Vespestad : Drums

  1. Doozy Mugwump Blues
  2. Caerbannog
  3. Alpha Dog
  4. Iwato
  5. Frank’ll Fix It
  6. In The Beginning
  7. Alexa
  8. Wonderfall
  9. Doozy (Reprise)

All compositions by Roy Powell except 1,6,9 by Jacob Young
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by InterStatic
Recorded by Espen Amundsen at Pettersens Kolonial studios on August 29-31st 2013
Mixed by Håkon Iversen at Cinema Studios on 9-10th January 2014
Mastered by Mike Fossenkemper at Turtletone Studios, NYC
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

Artwork and Design by Roki

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2014