Apophenian Bliss


  • CD (4 Panel Digipack  + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Transparent Blue, Slipcase w. Printed Inners + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3 + Bandcamp Stream)
  • HD Download (24bit/48kHz .flac + Bandcamp Stream)

Release Date : November 19th, 2021

Artist: Red Kite EAN 13 (CD): 5060197762308 Cat. No. (CD): RNR133 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197762315 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR133LP

Distilling order from a crushing whirlwind of chaos has been the stock in trade for Red Kite since the Norwegian jazz-rock supergroup joined forces in 2014. Apophenian Bliss, the much-anticipated follow-up to the quartet’s powerhouse 2019 self-titled debut references the tendency in the human brain to find patterns and connections even when none actually exist. While it may be a stretch to call Red Kite’s blistering alchemy of surging psychedelia, steamroller rock and fringe-dwelling jazz “benign,” it’s at least a far less harmful application of the term than the conspiracy theories warping minds across the globe.

Still, corralling the heady pandemonium of heavy prog, free jazz, combustible fusion and avant-metal into a cohesive sound is one thing; bringing that music to life in the face of the real-world chaos of a global pandemic is something else entirely.

Once the quartet – drummer Torstein Lofthus, guitarist Even Helte Hermansen, bassist Trond Frønes and keyboardist Bernt André Moen – managed to regroup from the unexpected disruption heard round the world, they decided to regroup in a recording studio in Halden, Norway and vent their frustrations the best way they knew how: by generating a throttling, visceral collection of new sounds. Hermansen set to writing a collection of new material fit to spark the combustible alchemy that the band had achieved on their acclaimed RareNoise debut.

Even Helte Hermansen – Baritone guitar
Trond Frønes – Bass
Bernt André Moen – Rhodes
Torstein Lofthus – Drums and percussion

Astrology (The One True Science)
This Immortal Coil
Red Kite Flight
Sleep Tight

All compositions by Even Helte Hermansen (Tono), except Morrasol by Gisle Johansen (Tono)

Recorded and mixed by Dag Erik Johansen at Athletic Sound, Halden, Norway
Mastered by Espen Høydalsvik at Oslo Fuzz, Norway
Artwork and design by Per Spjøtvold

Supported by Sørnorsk Jazzcenter

Produced by Red Kite
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2021

You may also like…