• CD (4 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Heavyweight, Gatefold + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/48kHz .flac)
Artist: Anguish EAN 13 (CD): 5060197761646 Cat. No. (CD): RNR100 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197761653 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR100LP

The dark, impossibly intense dirges, industrial noise onslaughts and banshee-like free jazz wailing heard throughout Anguish could be an imposing soundtrack for a dystopian, post-apocalyptic future. This powerhouse, inter-generational offering and RareNoise Records debut brings together (as Anguish) an unlikely gathering of members of the New Jersey-based experimental hip-hop group dälek (electronic musician and vocalist Will Brooks with guitarist-keyboardist Mike Mare), the Swedish free jazz group Fire! Orchestra (tenor saxophonist Mats Gustafsson, drummer Andreas Werliin) and the classic ‘70s German krautrock band Faust (keyboardist and 68-year-old founding member Hans Joachim Irmler).

Recorded in just three days during the summer of 2018 at Faust’s Scheer Studios, located in a former factory perched on the banks of the Danube in Swabia, Germany, near the Swiss border, Anguish stands as a hard-hitting manifesto for the next evolution in the hip-hop legacy.

Will Brooks (dälek) : vocals, SAMPLR, Eventide/Elektron effect pedals, 1 note on MOOG rogue, 3 notes on grand piano
Mats Gustafsson : tenor saxophone, live – electronics, 3 notes on grand piano
Hans Joachim Irmler : synthesizers, vocals
Mike Mare (dälek): guitar, electronics, synthesizer
Andreas Werliin : drums, percussion

1. Vibrations
2. Cyclical/Physical
3. Anguish
4. Gut Feeling
5. Brushes for Leah
6. Healer’s Lament
7. DEW
8. A Maze of Decay
9. Wümme

All songs composed by Will Brooks, Mats Gustafsson, Hans Joachim Irmler, Mike Mare and Andreas Werliin
All song published by Mayan Ruins Music (SESAC), Mike Mare Music (BMI),
All lyrics by Will Brooks, Mayan Ruins Music (SESAC) except “Healer’s Lament” by Kamau Daáood.

Recorded and mixed by Johannes Buff
Assistant Engineer: Jan Wagner
Recorded at Faust Studios, Scheer, Germany July 14 – 19, 2018
Mixed at END NOTE, Bayonne, Basque Country July 23 – 27, 2018

Spiritual counsel – LENNI

Mastered by Michael Fossenkemper
Mastered at Turtle Tone Studios, NYC, NY

Design & Layout by Paul Romano
Sculpture by Darla Jackson

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo

© + ℗ RareNoiseRecords 2018

You may also like…