Allt Är Intet


  • CD (6 Panel Digipack + SD Download)
  • VINYL (12″, Gold, Slipcase, Printed Inners + SD Download)
  • COMBO (VINYL + CD + SD Download  + HD Download)
  • SD Download (16bit/44.1kHz .flac, .mp3)
  • HD Download (24bit/48kHz .flac)

Release Date : November 13th, 2020
(Gold Vinyl available from January 21st, 2020)

Artist: The End EAN 13 (CD): 5060197762100 Cat. No. (CD): RNR123 EAN 13 (VINYL): 5060197762117 Cat. No. (VINYL): RNR123LP

Lo The English translation of Allt Är Intet is “All Is Nothingness” – an apt enough title for a band already possessed of the scorched earth sonic tendencies and nihilist-leaning name of The End. Yet there’s some ambiguity to that philosophy; the most bleak and despairing interpretation can be countered by a more all-embracing, one-with-the-universe meditativeness.

Perhaps surprisingly, either conclusion proves to fit Allt Är Intet, the remarkable second full-length album by The End. The powerhouse international quintet is made up of Swedish saxophonist Mats Gustafsson (Fire!, The Thing, Cuts ), Norwegian saxophonist Kjetil Møster (Møster!, Zanussi 5, Reflections In Cosmo), Ethiopian-born vocalist Sofia Jernberg (Fire! Orchestra, PAAVO), Norwegian guitarist Anders Hana (MoHa!, Ultralyd), and Norwegian drummer Børge Fjordheim (Cloroform).

Anyone familiar with these boundary-leaping musicians’ work is familiar with their throttling ferocity and ability to stretch their music into brutal extremes with focused intensity, as evidenced throughout The End’s audacious 2018 debut, Svårmod Och Vemod Är Värdesinnen (which featured Deerhoof drummer Greg Saunier in lieu of Fjordheim). But their follow-up, achieved after two years of continued exploration together, strikes an exhilarating balance between its predecessor’s blistering maelstroms and a more densely layered and haunting beauty.

The recently released Nedresa (April 2020), originally supposed to be a tour exclusive, comprises two tracks from the same recording session.

Sofia Jernberg – Voice
Kjetil Møster – Tenor Sax, Clarinet and Electronics
Mats Gustafsson – Baritone Sax, Flute and Live Electronics
Anders Hana – Baritone Guitar and Langeleik
Børge Fjordheim – Drums

1. It Hurts Me Too
2. Dark Wish (To Per Henrik Wallin)
3. Intention And Release
4. Allt Är Intet
5. Kråka. Rörde Sig Aldrig Mer.
6. Imani

Track 1 Trad. Via Karen Dalton
Track 2 composed by Gustafsson
Track 3 by Møster
Tracks 4 and 5 by Hana
Track 6 by Dewey Redman (DewRed/Ascap)
Lyrics on Tracks 2 and 4 by Gustafsson
Lyrics on Track 3 by Møster
Tracks 2-5 Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Recorded by Jørgen Træen on Nov. 13-15 2019 at Elektrolüd, Stavanger
Mixed and Mastered by Jørgen Træen June 2020 at Duper Studio, Bergen
Produced by THE END and Jørgen Træen
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords: Giacomo Bruzzo
Art by Edward Jarvis “Allt Är Intet” (All Is Nothingness), 2018
Text by Gunnar Ekelöf,
Design by Drid Machine
Band Photos by Petra Cvelbar
Additional Photography by Sissel Kate Davies

© + ℗  RareNoiseRecords 2020

You may also like…